Fees and Expenses
Maintenance fees are determined prior to the beginning of the fall term. TCATN, in conjunction with the Tennessee Board of Regents, reserves the right to add, delete, or change fees for admission to the school at any time without prior notice to the public.
Books, Supplies and Expenses
Students must provide the following as required by the area of training in which enrolled:
1. Textbooks, workbooks, paper, tools, and pencils
2. All parts and materials used on personal projects
3. Uniforms, safety glasses, and other personal items are required by specific occupational areas.
4. Students are encouraged to take the accident insurance available.
All materials, books, and supplies purchased from the bookstore by the student become the property of the student and are non-refundable.
Drug screening fees, ERI, Liability Insurance, Clinical Fees and Truck Maintenance Fees are non-refundable.
Fees are assessed each term in accordance with an approved fee schedule for Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology. Maintenance Fees are based upon the number of clock hours the student is scheduled to attend for the term as outlined below. In addition to paying a Maintenance Fee each term, students must pay a Technology Access Fee of $41.00-$67.00 each term. Fees may be paid by cash, check, and money order, MasterCard, VISA or American Express. No two-party checks or partial payments accepted. Students must pay their fees before being admitted to class each term.
Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology
Effective Fall Trimester, 2013
TRI FY 13-14 TRI TRI TRI
Hours Maintenance Fee SAF TAF TOTAL
* 1 - 40 $ 183.00 $ 10.00 $ 41.00 $ 234.00
* 41-80 247.00 10.00 41.00 298.00
* 81-135 372.00 10.00 41.00 423.00
*136-217 590.00 10.00 67.00 667.00
218-340 878.00 10.00 67.00 955.00
341-432 982.00 10.00 67.00 1,059.00
* The TTC has the option of charging 2.50
per hour within this range.
Special Academic Fees:
Truck Driving $ 300.00 Per trimester
Licensed Practical Nursing $ 100.00 Per trimester
Welding Technology $ 100.00 Per trimester
RODP CNA Lab Fee $ 75.00 Per trimester
BAD CHECK COLLECTION
The payment of fees may be made by cash, check, credit card, or money order. If a student pays fees with a check that is not honored by the bank, the student will be notified by the person so designated at the Tennessee College of Applied Technology Nashville. If the check is not paid in cash within 15 calendar days from the date of notice, that student will be withdrawn from classes. If the student pays the bad check within the allotted time period, an additional returned check fee of $30 will be assessed.
Full-time state employees (to include TBR and UT employees) may enroll in training programs on a space-available basis without paying maintenance fees. Any dependent child under the age of 21 whose parent died as a direct result of injuries received while serving in the armed forces may be eligible for a fee waiver.
NOTE: All persons eligible for maintenance fee waivers or discounts must provide appropriate documentation no later than the day of registration each trimester.
A maintenance fee discount equal to 50% will be provided to spouses and dependent children under the age of 24 whose parent is employed by the TBR or UT system. A maintenance fee discount of 25% will be given to dependent children under the age of 24 whose parent is employed as a full-time state employee or certified teacher in a Tennessee public school or whose parent is a retired state employee. Persons with a permanent, total disability, and persons who will become 65 years of age or older during the academic term in which they begin classes and who are domiciled in Tennessee will be charged a service fee of $60 per term. This only applies to enrollment on a space available basis.
PROCESSING OF REFUND
TCATN will automatically calculate and process a refund for any student that withdraws during the refund period. All refund checks are mailed directly to the student from the TCATN Business Office within 30 days of receipt of the request.
THE TENNESSEE BOARD OF REGENTS REFUND OF MAINTENANCE FEES AND TECHNOLOGY ACCESS FEE POLICY
Eligibility for Refund
1. Voluntary withdrawal of the student from TCATN.
2. Cancellation of a class by TCATN.
3. Death of the student.
4. Students administratively dismissed will not be eligible for refunds.
5. Change in full-time student’s schedule which results in a reclassification to a part-time student.
6. Change in a part-time student's schedule which results in a class load of fewer hours.
Calculation of the Refund
· 100% of maintenance and technology access fees will be refunded for classes cancelled by TCATN.
· 100% of these fees will be refunded for drops or withdrawals prior to the first official day of classes.
· 100% of these fees will be refunded in the case of death of the student during the term.
· A refund of 75% will be allowed if a course is dropped or student withdraws within the first 10% of the class hours.
· A refund of 50% will be allowed if a course is dropped or a student withdraws within the first 20% of the class hours.
· No refund will be permitted after 20% of the class hours have been completed.
· There will be no refund after the first official day of classes when a minimum fee is collected.
Refunds and Financial Aid
Financial aid is considered to be used first for direct education costs - tuition and fees. Therefore, if a student withdraws and is scheduled to receive a refund of fees, all or part of this refund will be used to reimburse the financial aid programs from which the student received funds. Any student receiving financial aid will not receive a cash refund until all financial aid funds disbursed have been applied back to the respective accounts from which they were issued.
Applying the Return of Title IV Funds Policy and the TBR Refund of Maintenance and Technology Access Fee Policy
In most instances when a student has charged their maintenance and technology access fees to their Pell grant and withdraws prior to completing 60% of their scheduled hours for the period of enrollment, the student will owe payment to the school. This will occur when the TBR policy determines that the school has earned a larger percentage of the fees than the Return of Title IV Funds calculation.
In these instances the school will require payment of the difference from the student. A “HOLD” will be placed on the student's account until full payment is made to the school. The student will not be allowed to apply for re-admission, register for class, or receive official copies of transcripts until the outstanding balance on their account is paid.
Examples of TBR refund calculations and Return of Title IV Funds calculations are available, upon request, from the Financial Aid Department.
For more information: email@example.com